The Years

A former coworker called me at work yesterday. She’d applied for a new position and wanted to use me for a reference. I said yes, of course.

I’ve been trying to piece together the past years, so when the questions come up – When did you work together? and so on – I’ll be prepared. Once again, this blog helps.

My former coworker knows when she started and when she ended, of course, but I’ve been thinking of my own history, and how everything fit together.

I’ve been with the company for four years and a couple of months. It seems longer than that, and at the same time, it doesn’t seem like it’s been that long. But, that’s what this blog says.

My former coworker arrived in our group when we were in Cascade. The company moved to Downtown in January, 2014. She was laid off when we were in Downtown.

It took a lot of research to piece together the months before I was hired as a permanent employee with the company. It seems so long ago, and yet it wasn’t so long ago. I began as a temp employee in May, 2012. I started out working in the satellite offices on First Hill and the U District. At the beginning of July, I was still a temp employee when I was suddenly moved to a desk, full time, in the main Cascade office.

When I walked to my new desk in Cascade, that first morning, I stopped into Top Pot for a latte along the way. I’ve kept that latte cup ever since. It became a paper clip holder.

What really surprised me, as I pieced together the years, was that I’d been at my desk in Cascade for only two weeks when I interviewed for a permanent position at the company. A week after the interview, I began work, in the same position, as a permanent employee.

Two months as a satellite temp employee. Three weeks as a main office temp employee. Then four years as a permanent employee.  If it weren’t for this blog, my recollection of my history with the company would be really screwed up.

One thought on “The Years

Leave a Reply

