Atlantis

The Atlantis Gene, by A.G. Riddle, is a good book. I finished its 440+ pages last Sunday, and I enjoyed it all the way through.

the-atlantis-geneThe story is part science fiction, part spy thriller, and part mystery, with a whole lot of conspiracy theory mixed in. It felt similar to The X-Files, or maybe The Da Vinci Code (although I’ve never read the latter). The action hops the globe between Indonesia, Tibet, Gibraltar, and Antarctica. The conspiracy ties together the origin of homo sapiens sapiens, World War I, the 1918 Spanish Flu pandemic, the 9/11 terrorist attacks, and, of course, the lost city of Atlantis.

It’s the type of book in which the heroes tend to find themselves in the right place at exactly the right moment, and everything is revealed, all at once, through monologues. It’s not a perfect novel. It’s not a masterpiece. But that’s fine with me. It was entertaining, and the mysteries kept me guessing.

The Atlantis Gene is the first part of a trilogy, and so the story felt unfinished – like a setup for the next book (which, of course, it is). It also felt like it wants to be a movie script, with more action scenes than inner dialogue. (It probably would make a good motion picture.)

This book came to me highly recommended, and I recommend it. I now want to read the next book: The Atlantis Plague.

2 thoughts on “Atlantis

  1. Do you already have the next book or do you have to order it from Amazon? The King County Library System has Atlantis Plague but you have to wait in line due to holds on it. Will you order the next two books at once? Will you donate the copies you have read, to the library sale?

    I was at the Shoreline Library this evening (ten blocks north of the Crest Theater) and there were cars lined up out into the street, to hand ballots to the on-site elections collectors, without getting out of their cars. King County Sheriff’s deputies on guard, as well. I would like to see how they will take away the ballot box at 8 PM because it looks to me like a forklift will be needed, but I didn’t see one on-site.

Leave a Reply

