About Yesterday

I was so clever and organized yesterday. I’m proud of myself. I knew there was an evening Seahawks game this week. I knew crowds of people would be moving through Downtown. I set a calendar alert on my phone, so I’d remember to avoid the heart of Downtown by busing up to First Hill and over to Capitol Hill.

It’s not that the sports crowd would be bad, but if there’s a way to avoid the crowds, why not take it?

And yesterday, I didn’t even need the alarm. I remembered to avoid Downtown. I sent a text message to Phillip, letting him know I’d be riding the streetcar home.

My plan didn’t work out as well as I’d hoped. The 12 bus was stuck in Downtown traffic. I added at least 15 minutes to my commute. My plan was more organized than clever. But I’m still proud of myself.

When I got home after dinner yesterday, I wrote a blog post about how organized and clever I was.

Then two sports fan friends reminded me that the game is today, not yesterday.

The thing is, I knew the game was Thursday night. I knew that yesterday was Wednesday. The calendar alert was set for Thursday. I’m not sure what went wrong, and it doesn’t really matter.

Today is Thursday. The calendar alert went off this afternoon. I decided to ride Link home anyway. The crowds weren’t so bad.

Go’hawks!

One thought on “About Yesterday

Leave a Reply

