What I’m Reading

Last Halloween, or so, Phillip and I saw the movie Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Phillip had read the book. I had not. I enjoyed the movie, and Phillip gave the book a good review. So, I put the book on hold at the library, taking my place in line behind the hundreds of holds before me.

Earlier this week, my hold came in. I can’t put this book down. I am loving it. I’m on page 153 – not quite halfway through.

miss-peregrines-home

The book is illustrated with wonderful old, peculiar photographs. These photos so perfectly illustrate the story that I had to wonder: Which came first, the story or the photos? Was the story built around existing photos, or were the photos created for the book?

I did something I don’t usually do. I skipped ahead to the Q&A with the author, Ransom Riggs. I learned that he is a collector of old, peculiar photographs, which he finds at flea markets and garage sales. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, his first novel, was written around the photographs. I think that is a wonderful idea.

When I started reading this novel, and I saw the photographs, I realized that it perfectly fit a category in the 2017 Reading Challenge. It is a book with pictures. I considered following Phillip’s advice, returning the book to the library, checking it out next year, and reading it for the Challenge.

I have found another book which may also fit the Category, and I’ve put it on my “For Later” shelf, and I’m continuing to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. (So far, the movie has followed it pretty closely.) If it turns out that that other book doesn’t fit the Category, I may try Ransom Riggs’ follow-up novel, Hollow City. I’m sure he has plenty of photographs left in his collection.

One thought on “What I’m Reading

Leave a Reply

