Email From The Library

I received an email from the library this morning. It was a reminder that Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is due back in a few days. There was nothing unusual in that email, but it’s been a very long time since I’ve held on to a library book long enough to receive a due date reminder.

I finished reading the book last night. I returned it during my morning break today.

I’m not sure why it took me so long to finish it. It was wonderful, and actually a quick read. Part of it, I know, was due to me reading The Atlantis Plague, by A.G. Riddle, at the same time – at least for the first half of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I got so wrapped up in the second part that I set The Atlantis Plague aside. That, and I no longer read during my weekday commutes – they’re too short for reading.

Last night, I didn’t realize how close to the end I was until the last page. I kept expecting the end scenes I saw in the movie. The endings of the book and the movie are very different. Actually, though, I don’t remember how the movie ended, exactly. All I remember is the seaside resort, which wasn’t in the book at all.

My enjoyment of the book was just slightly overshadowed by my fascination with the idea of writing a book around a collection of found photographs. There were times when it was pretty obvious that character details were shaped to fit the photograph, but it’s still an awesome concept.

Phillip has just started reading Hollow City – the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – which he’s borrowed from the library. He offered to let me read it, while he reads something else, but I turned him down. I want to finish reading The Atlantis Plague, plus Kelly gave me The Atlantis World for Christmas, plus the start of the 2017 Reading Challenge is less than a week away.

Leave a Reply

