Hold Roulette

When I was almost done reading Every Little Crook and Nanny, I put the next book I wanted to read for 2017 Reading Challenge on hold.

Part of the fun in this Challenge, like last year’s Challenge, is the research and planning. I do internet searches for books fitting the Categories, place them on my virtual “For Later” shelf, and then place holds based on how long I guess the wait for it will be.

I was almost done with the first book, which was a quick read, so I picked the next book because it was available, and thus a short wait.

Right after I placed the hold on that next book, but before it became “In Transit”, another book, a popular book, which I had on suspended hold, ended its suspension and went immediately into “In Transit”.

So, it appeared that the next book in the Challenge would not be the one I’d planned. That’s fine. It’s all part of the fun.

This morning, I checked my library account. That third book was ready for pickup – and so was the one I’d planned for the next book.

So now it seems that the next book in the Challenge will be whichever one I finish reading first.

I met Phillip at the Capitol Hill Library, where I picked up my two books, after work today. It’s Wednesday, which means half-price burgers at Blue Moon Burgers, which was why Phillip and I met up at the library before going out to dinner.

It’s also the start of a new month, which means a new Burger of the Month to try out. This month is an especially good one. It’s called The No Resolutions Burger. It’s a chicken fried steak, with gravy, a fried egg, cheddar cheese, lettuce, and a tomato slice. It’s delicious. It’s also quite messy, so I recommend picking up a knife and fork before sitting down to eat it.

bom

The No Resolutions Burger, with beer battered waffle fries

2 thoughts on “Hold Roulette

Leave a Reply

