Standing Is Nice

The Link train has been so crowded in the mornings, lately, that I don’t bother trying to find a seat for my short, two station ride. I stand for the ride. It’s good to see the trains so well used. I don’t mind standing at all

The ride home is long enough that I do try to find a vacant seat.

Fare Inspectors boarded at Westlake this evening. The one in our car got to me just as the train arrived at Capitol Hill Station.

When I come home these days, I almost immediately open a book. I am enjoying this year’s Reading Challenge a whole lot. I’m into an especially good book right now. Of course, I won’t tell you what it is until I finish it and post my review. (That’s a rule I made for myself last year, just for fun, and I’m sticking with it for 2017.)

I find amazing that I’ve finished seven books this month. (Granted, two were short ones, but I’m still amazed.)

I continue to have a love/hate relationship with The Sims 4. I love playing the game, and it’s gorgeous to look at. I hate how buggy the game is, even with no custom content or mods. (Last night, Phillip and I spent a long time figuring out how to make his Sim get some sleep. The last time it happened, a camping trip did the trick. Last night it did not. Internet searches came up with just about everything from resetting the Sim to removing vegetables in his inventory to removing pictures from the walls. Last night, moving to a different bedroom solved it, but it probably won’t work the next time.) Also, I’m frustrated by the restrictions to creativity the game offers.

But I keep playing The Sims 4, and I continue to enjoy it (when it works right). Phillip and I said we wouldn’t spend any more money on it, but we’ve bought the City Living pack and the Vampires pack.

Phillip and I continue taking turns playing The Sims 4, and we’re playing it in the same world in rather different styles.

Phillip’s Sim has become a vampire. Daryl is living alone, and dating a lot.

My Sims, Henry and Mary Burke, have retired to the countryside of Windenburg. (Henry’s a happy ghost, and Mary will be joining him in ghost form any day now.) Their son, Aquarius Burke, has grown up and moved to the city. After an awkward courtship, Aquarius married his roommate Francine Cha. Their daughter, Lily Cha-Burke, has grown into a teenager, and their son, Spencer Burke-Cha, is a child. They may outgrow their small apartment soon.

mary-and-henry

Mary and Henry Burke

Phillip is playing the wild, dark, single life, and I’m playing the multi-generational family life.

(I didn’t know where this post was going when I started it.)

Leave a Reply

