Feeling Too Crushed To Write

Today was Writers’ Group, and I hadn’t written anything.

I’ve been too overwhelmed by the events of the world – of my country – to write anything. Even this blog, once filled with my personal ramblings, is now filled with random photographs, observations about computer games, and book reviews. I’m writing about things, not about me. I just can’t seem to accurately put my feelings into words.

The whole Group was there today – Russ, Mariah, Rebecca, Barbara, and me – and, of course, the main topic of our conversations was politics. (We are a very Liberal group.)

lowellI am proud of Seattle, my city. These days, however, I feel like my city is holding a line against encroaching fascism. We, as a whole, are at the forefront of things that are really nobody’s business but our own – marriage, marijuana, public transit, and immigration. My nephew is worried right now that he will be deported if his marriage, currently legal, should become illegal with a single executive order. I love my city, and I hope we can hold on as long as we can.

I went to Writer’s Group today, but I didn’t go empty-handed. I brought my phone with me, and, with the Group’s approval, read some of those book reviews from my blog. That went over well.

I received an especially valuable piece of feedback, and I don’t remember who brought it up: I never really say who I think a book’s audience would be. It’s something I don’t typically think about when I’m reading a book. Specifically, who was The Impossible Fortress written for? It’s obviously a Young Adult novel, all about growing up. But, at the same time, it contains references to things only someone old enough to remember the 1980s would understand. Is this a fault, or a way to appeal to multiple audiences? It’s something I should consider as the Reading Challenge continues.

5 thoughts on “Feeling Too Crushed To Write

  1. You are too hard on yourself, buddy! Anything you write or photograph, whether it is observations about transit, downtown development, or your book reviews, expresses your personality and point of view. It is all of value. It takes time to process happenings, and the function of art (writing, photography, etc. is to provide this outlet for yourself personally, and all who know you enjoy hearing your observations.

  2. Explain more why you value inward looking writing over outward looking writing? I work at learning to write about the world, not myself and the stuff I like best to read is in a distinct voice but is looking at things outside itself. Is that a personality difference, or maybe you only mean IN THIS BLOG you meant the subject to be yourself-?

    • It’s merely a personal thing. I’ve been writing this blog for a very long time, and it’s been about a lot of different things, but mostly it’s been about me. The writing I do for Writers’ Group is typically non-fiction, inward looking writing. It’s only recently that I’ve dabbled in fiction.

      I’ve been having a tough time, lately, coming up with personal things to blog about, and I’ve been exploring why that is. It’s not really that I value inward writing over outward writing. I’m just recognizing the shift in style and attempting to figure out why that’s happening.

Leave a Reply

