Poor Atlantis

The Atlantis trilogy, A. G. Riddle, got lost in my rush through the 2017 Reading Challenge. I’ve tried to find a way to fit them into one of the Categories, but I can’t. They’re very good books. All three have been stacked on the coffee table since the beginning of the year. Kelly gave the third book, The Atlantis World, for Christmas, over four months ago, and I haven’t even read the first page.

Last night, I found myself without a book to read. I returned Asleep yesterday, and the next Challenge book is In Transit. I opened The Atlantis Plague, the second book, and picked up where I’d left off, three-fourths of the way through the 400-page book. It was surprisingly easy to pick up the story.

Unfortunately for it, The Atlantis Plague will be set aside again when the library book arrives.

This morning, Phillip started reading the first book, The Atlantis Gene.

This afternoon, Phillip and I boarded a 49 bus and rode to the U-District for a 3:50 movie at Sundance Cinemas. Somehow, I’d overestimated how long it would take us to get ready and walk up the hill. We must have caught an earlier bus than planned, because we stepped off the bus at 2:38. We’d bought our tickets online, so we spent some time hanging around in Trader Joe’s, and in the upper lounge of the theater.

We saw Personal Shopper, with Cristina, Michael, and Craig.

I loved this movie – I loved it a lot. It reminded me, somewhat, of the book I’d just finished reading: Asleep, by Banana Yoshimoto. Personal Shopper is a ghost story, but not in a scary way. It’s also much more than that. It was character-driven. It was also enigmatic – very enigmatic.

Craig walked out during the movie – it wasn’t to his taste. After the movie, Michael, Cristina, Phillip, and I walked up to The Ave, discussing the movie as we walked. It was that kind of movie – one that needs to be discussed if you’re going to understand it.

At The Ave, Michael had to say goodbye. Then Cristina and Phillip and I had dinner at CaliBurger, where we continued to discuss the movie.

Then Phillip and I rode a 49 home.