Weird Timing

I’ve been riding the 47 bus home every day this week. The weather’s been nice, and a bus offers a better view than Link. I’ve had no holds come in at the library, so there’s been no need to be up on Broadway.

Taking the bus home involves a couple of minutes wait on 3rd Avenue, and a 5 or 6 minute wait at 4th and Pike for the 47. Overall, it evens out to the walk home from Capitol Hill Station.

I left my desk at my usual time. As I walked over to the 3rd Ave bus stop, I remembered that I hadn’t ridden the streetcar home in quite a while. But I continued on the bus stop.

My wait on 3rd Avenue didn’t feel any longer or shorter than usual. It was a little odd that the first bus to arrive was a route 1 bus. Usually, it’s a 3, 4, 7 or a 70.

I got to 4th and Pike just as a 49 bus arrived. I checked OneBusAway. A 47 bus had left 2 minutes ago, and the next one was due in 19 minutes. I have no idea what happened – if my timing was off, or if something had happened to the 47.

I put my phone away. The 49 was still loading. I boarded it, and ended up with a good view on the ride home. Plus, I ended up walking past the library, even though I had no reason to go in. 

Leave a Reply

