Fun With Libby

I’m currently reading a library book on my phone, with the Libby by Overdrive app. It’s a large novel with a lot of philosophy going on in it. It’s taking me forever to read it.

On Saturday, I had over 400 ePages to go. The eBook was due back in 4 days. I didn’t think I would be able to finish it in time, so I decided to renew my loan. The app told me it was too soon to renew, and that I’d be able to renew in 1 day.

On Sunday, the book was due back in 3 days. I tried to renew it. The app told me it was too soon to renew, and that I’d be able to renew in 1 day. Guessing that it was measuring days by the time I checked it out, I tried later in the day. I still had 1 day until I’d be able to renew.

(I wonder now, as I write this post, if it didn’t count Saturday as a day, since the physical libraries were closed.)

This morning, the book was due back in 2 days. I tried to renew it. The app told me it was too soon to renew, and that I’d be able to renew in 1 day. I tried again during my mid-morning break. There was a big red button that said “Renew”. I clicked it. The app told me I couldn’t renew it. It offered me two option: Place a hold on the eBook, or return it to the library. I placed a hold.

I was number 1 in line for the hold. There was 1 copy, and it was currently borrowed.

Of course, that one copy was borrowed by me. As soon as my loan expires, my hold will begin.

I returned the book two days early. A little while later, it was back on my phone for another 20 days. And the app somehow knew what page I’d left off at. Libby by Overdrive may be weird at times, but it’s also pretty awesome.

2 thoughts on “Fun With Libby

Leave a Reply

