Joyriding The 2

I took today off from work, specifically to joyride on Link Light Rail’s new 2 Line. I invited Phillip to join me, but he wasn’t interested. It’s not his vibe.

The 2 Line opened last weekend, but I decided to avoid the crowds at the opening ceremonies.

The 2 Line doesn’t connect to Seattle yet, so I had to get over to Bellevue.

The Trip Planner app offered me just one solution, with a couple of variations: Head north to the U District (via the 49 bus or Link Line 1) and catch the Metro 271 bus across the Evergreen Point Floating Bridge to the Bellevue Transit Center.

The Transit app offered me that same solution, and another one: Head south to Downtown and catch the Sound Transit 550E bus across the I-90 Floating Bridge.

I got Phillip up and out the door this morning. Then I made some coffee. I had no schedule, but I figured that 8:00-ish would be a good time to head out.

Continue reading →