The State Of Things, Mid-June, 2024

I have yet to see Fare Ambassadors checking fares on station platforms.

Yesterday, Shelf Talk announced that access to eBooks at The Seattle Public Library would return on Thursday June 13 at noon. (That’s today.) Physical holds are still unavailable, and the library is still asking everyone to continue to hold onto the physical books they’ve borrowed.

And, true to their word, I can now borrow eBooks from SPL on Libby.

I have an eBook on hold at another library, with a 6 week estimated hold time. It’s available now at the Seattle Public Library. I’d cancel the hold, and borrow it, but I have another eBook on hold that will be available “soon,” and another eBook that’ll be available in ~2 weeks, so I’ll wait.

Last Sunday, Phillip (who, to my surprise, reads my blog) (that’s a joke) suggested that I buy a USB-to-headphone jack converter cable so that I can use earbuds on my phone (real earbuds, that is – not Bluetooth ones).

The converter cable I ordered arrived today. They work perfectly. I can now listen to videos that Brian sends me. Yea! (Smartphones still suck, however.)

By the way, those last two paragraphs are in reference to this blog post.

I am absolutely obsessed with Billie Eilish’s latest album, Hit Me Hard and Soft. Billie Eilish’s official YouTube channel has posted lyric videos of every song on the new item. I’ve been listening to them over and over.

When I went to return Emanon, vol 4, I saw that Hoopla has Hit Me Hard and Soft available for a 7 day loan. That’s amazing.

Leave a comment