The State Of Things, Almost July 2024

It occurred to me, very recently, that my hunt for platform Fare Ambassadors is flawed. They’re checking fares only on the Downtown Transit Tunnel platforms (and the trains, of course). My commute includes only one of the four Tunnel stations, and only twice a day, at rush hours. That’s a narrow sample.

And, it occurs to me, those times my fare had been checked on the train from Capitol Hill Station to Downtown, those might have been Fare Ambassadors heading for the Tunnel platforms. I don’t know. It’s just a guess.

On my morning walks up the hill, I see a lot of people out walking their dogs – some very large dogs. It didn’t used to be that way, in this neighborhood of apartments and condominiums. I’ve written about that before. But, this morning, I saw something I’d never seen before.

A car pulled over to the curb and parked. The driver got out. I wasn’t paying much attention. There wasn’t anything unusual at that point. Then I saw that the driver had a dog on a leash, and had started a walk. The driver had driven their dog to a random spot in the neighborhood to have a walk. What was going on there?

Theory 1: The driver lived in an area that wasn’t inviting for dog walks. Theory 2: The driver and the dog were going somewhere together, and the dog asked to pull over for a rest stop. I think Theory 2 is more likely.

I am obsessed with Billie Eilish’s latest album, Hit Me Hard and Soft.

I came down with something this past weekend. I slept through the latter half of Saturday and most of Sunday. I called in sick on Monday, and slept through the first half of the day.

Over the weekend, I watched a couple of videos from a YouTube channel named Nicky Furmage. A British couple visited Seattle for the first time. They stayed for two days before continuing up to Alaska. They saw several sights. They also walked from Westlake to Columbia Tower, commenting with amazement, several times, on how quiet the city is, while admitting that it was a Sunday afternoon. (I thought to myself: Well, yeah.) It was an enjoyable couple of videos.

On Tuesday, I watched a video from Walk Signals. He walked from Pike Place Market, up Pike Street to 15th Avenue, then down Pine Street back to Pike Place Market. It was a very noisy, loud video. It was obviously filmed on a weekday. What a difference a day makes, eh?

Leave a comment