Something To Celebrate In July 2020

I returned a library book today!

The Central Library is now among the 10 Seattle Public Libraries accepting book returns on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays, from noon to 6 p.m. It’s a short walk from my office.

I wasn’t sure which of the Central Library’s two book drops would be open: The automated one on 4th Avenue, or the box on 5th Avenue, or maybe both. It made sense to me that the 5th Avenue box would be the one, since the books would later be gathered and disinfected, and it would probably a good idea to have them all in one compact space.

I walked over to the 5th Avenue side of the library during my lunch break. The entire entrance was taped off, including the drop box.

So I walked down Madison Street, toward 4th Avenue. I saw a few library employees inside. It was looking hopeful.

The library had set up a new drop box near the entrance. The automated book drop had a sign saying it was closed.

So, my initial assumption was mostly correct. It was the drop box that was open – just not the one I was expecting.

There were three people in line ahead of me, all maintaining social distancing.

Central Book Drop

I dropped off my book, and had just enough time to snap a photo before another person arrived, book in hand.

Someday, the Seattle Public Library will fully reopen, and someone will enjoy that copy of An Unkindness of Ghosts, by Rivers Solomon, as much as I did.

That makes me happy.

Plus, it was a nice afternoon for a walk.

 

Leave a comment