A Rainy Wednesday Morning

I was happy to hear the rain this morning. It’s been too hot for too long in Seattle.

Still, I faced a decision. Did I want to stand in the rain, waiting for the bus? The bus shelter at the nearest 47 stop has been removed, and there are no nearby building awnings to stand under.

When I worked in Cascade, I would often walk to work in the rain. Somehow, though, standing in the rain is less pleasant than walking in the rain.

I thought about walking over to Olive Way and catching a 43. There’s a bus shelter there. I visualized the other stops along the 47. I assume all the bus shelters have been removed. (The 47 has less than a week until it’s gone.) I couldn’t remember any stops with nearby awnings.

I decided to catch the 47, but leave later than I usually do – and spend less time standing in the rain. I like the 47, and I’m going to miss it. I stepped out of our apartment building. It wasn’t raining very hard at all. It was quite pleasant, actually.

On my way to the bus stop, I passed a car2go. I wasn’t temped to take it – there would be no advantage. Still, I glanced over at the card reader, out of curiosity. It was flashing orange – or whatever color that light is. Someone had reserved it, of course.

That car2go was still there when the 47 arrived. I glanced over at it as the bus pulled away from the stop. I managed to see that the flashing light had turned green. Whoever had reserved it hadn’t picked it up, and it was available again. I imagine it wasn’t there for long.